Front-End Only Users – Video 4 – Options – WordPress Plugin

There are a large number of options for the “Front-End Only Users” plugin, which are split in to 4 groups: Basic, Premium, Labeling and Commerce. The commerce options are used to pre-fill the checkout form for the plugin WooCommerce using a visitor’s FEUP profile information, and these options are pretty self-explanatory so we won’t be covered in more detail in this video. Simliarly, the labeling options affect the titles, instructions and button text for the different shortcodes that can be used with the plugin. These ones are very straightforward as well, so we’re going to concentrate on the ones that need a little more explanation: basic and premium.
Starting with the basic options, the first one is “Login Time”. This option lets you control how long a user remains logged in to the site whenever they fill in the login form, unless they hit a logout button at some point.
“Send Sign Up Emails” controls whether your site sends new users an email when they join your site. If you’re using either the email confirmation option, users signing up to your site will automatically receive an email from that process as well. Most admins use this option to welcome users to their site and explain any pertinent features that are only available to members.
The textarea that’s labelled “Custom CSS” lets you control every aspect of the appearance of the plugin using cascading stylesheets. You can search online for information on how to use CSS to style web pages, or watch the 7th video in this tutorial series which covers common CSS changes that plugin users ask about.
Next up is “Use Crypt”, which controls what kind of encryption is used for the user logins. We recommend setting this to “Yes”, but if you have users already signed up, then it’s best not to change this option as current passwords will no longer work.
The last basic option is “Username is Email”, which determines whether a user signs up and logs on to your site using their email address instead of a username. This can make sending emails with the plugin for forgotten passwords, etc. more straightforward, as the plugin knows exactly which field contains a user’s email address.
Moving on the premium options, the first one on the page is “Captcha”, which stops users from creating phony accounts on your site using automated programs. It works by adding an image containing a number to your page, which a user has to read and then enter when they sign up.
If you’re interested in knowing what your members are accessing on your site, then “Track User Activity” is the perfect option for you. This will give a list of all of the links, pages, images and attachments that your users have clicked on.
Another common security measure is “Email Confirmation”, which requires users to confirm their email addresses before they’re able to log on to your site. When a new user signs up, and email is sent out to them containing a link to confirm that the email address they entered is valid.
The next two options “Admin Approval of Users” and “Email on Admin Approval” are related. Admin approval of users means that new users who sign up for your site won’t be able to log in until an administrator approves their application. When that happens, if “Email on Admin Approval” is set to “Yes”, then the user will receive a message informing them that they now have access to the site.
If you won’t to receive an email when a new user joins your site, then the last toggle option is perfect for you. When “Admin Email on Registration” is set to “Yes”, an email will be sent to the email address that you supplied on the “Emails” tab informing you of the new user.
Finally, if you’re using the “Levels” feature of the plugin, then you can control what level new users are set to using the “Default User Level” option.
 

More Video Training From Around The Web

Post Author:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *